Skip to Main Content

The Forgotten Hero: Step 2: Secondary Sources

A guide for finding resources on Forgotten Heroes.

Database Tips

Important Tips to Remember: 

  • If doing a Basic Search, only search by one keyword, phrase, name, etc.
  • Try to narrow or broaden your results with an Advanced Search. 
  • Use the boolean operators (and, or, not) to broaden or narrow your results
  • If searching for a name or specific phrase, use quotes so the database knows to look for the complete name or phrase (i.e. "Rosalind Franklin"). 
  • Remember to limit your results to Full Text.
  • Save your articles by copying the shareable links (not the URL in the address bar) that the database provides! 

If you find an article that you would like for your research but it is not full text, please contact a librarian.

 

 

 

Core Databases

Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, it merges Gale's authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Users can also search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text.

 

Britannica Library Reference Center allows users to easily conduct fact-checked research from continually updated encyclopedia articles.

 

American History helps students build foundational subject knowledge of U.S. history from pre-contact to the present day. With over 20,000 primary and secondary sources presenting a full survey of America’s development, this library provides a rich collection of primary sources covering everything from early diaries, ship logs, and slave narratives all the way to FBI surveillance files, as well as thoughtful commentary and academic discussions on topics ranging from early colonial settlement and the witch scare in Massachusetts to the complexities of politics today.

 

The Modern Era chronicles influential world events and developments since the 16th century to support research and analysis of global trends, causal relationships, and current conflicts.

U.S. History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.

 

World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed he history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students. Content is aligned with state andnational curriculum standards and is cross searchable with U.S. History In Context.

 

 Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different  sources.

 

Understanding Conflict and Society is an essential source for research and scholarship on the military conflicts that have defined world history from antiquity to today, offering over 22,000 primary sources and reference entries spanning more than 50 wars.

 

Usernames and Passwords

 

**If you are a New Hampshire or Maine resident and have trouble accessing the databases off campus please contact Ms. Hammond for assistance. 

A-Z Databases