LibGuides: Beowulf: Finding Articles

Database Tips

Important Tips to Remember:

If doing a Basic Search, only search by one keyword, phrase, name, etc.
Try to narrow or broaden your results with an Advanced Search.
Use the boolean operators (and, or, not) to broaden or narrow your results
Remember to limit your results to Full Text.
Save your articles by copying the shareable links (not the URL in the address bar) that the database provides!

If you find an article that you would like for your research but it is not full text, please contact a librarian.

Usernames and Passwords

SJP Databases | Usernames and Passwords | On and Off Campus**
If any of the Studzinski Library databases ask for a username or password, please see this list.

**If you are a New Hampshire or Maine resident and have trouble accessing the databases off campus please contact Ms. Hammond for assistance.

Core Databases

Literature [Gale]
An integrated research experience, Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.
High School: Gale in Context [Gale]
Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Literature Criticism [Gale]
This databases has two subcategories of databases: Contemporary Literary Criticism and Shakespearean Criticism. The Boston Public Library Online Resources has this database with ten subcategories of databases.

Boston Public Library

If you sign up for a free BPL eCard you will be able to access their databases. Click here to register for an eCard. See the list of recommended BPL databases below.

Gale Literature Criticism
This is the same database the Studzinski Library has, however, the BPL has more categories to search through.

Open Access Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 35 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and preprints crawled from the World Wide Web

A-Z Databases

A-Z Database List
Want to search in more databases? Ciick the link to look though Studzinski Library A-Z Database List.

Beowulf: Finding Articles