Skip to Main Content

World War II : Secondary Sources

Database Tips

Important Tips to Remember: 

  • If doing a Basic Search, only search by one keyword, phrase, name, etc.
  • Try to narrow or broaden your results with an Advanced Search. 
  • Use the boolean operators (and, or, not) to broaden or narrow your results
  • If searching for a name or specific phrase, use quotes so the database knows to look for the complete name or phrase (i.e. "Rosalind Franklin"). 
  • Remember to limit your results to Full Text.
  • Save your articles by copying the shareable links (not the URL in the address bar) that the database provides! 

If you find an article that you would like for your research but it is not full text, please contact a librarian.

Core Databases

World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed he history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students. Content is aligned with state andnational curriculum standards and is cross searchable with U.S. History In Context.

 

 Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different  sources.

 

Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism will gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

The Modern Era chronicles influential world events and developments since the 16th century to support research and analysis of global trends, causal relationships, and current conflicts.

 Understanding Conflict and Society is an essential source for research and scholarship on the military conflicts that have defined world history from antiquity to today, offering over 22,000 primary sources and reference entries spanning more than 50 wars.

Usernames and Passwords

 

**If you are a New Hampshire or Maine resident and have trouble accessing the databases off campus please contact Ms. Hammond for assistance. 

A-Z Databases