The A.E. Studzinski Library: Social Studies Department

To access the Gale databases from another state, use this link to Gale's product menu. Gale databases are restricted by Massachusetts geolocation of IP.

MLA 9th edition released in 2021

If requested to authenticate username and password for a SJP database, use the UN and PW from this SJP Google spreadsheet.

Studzinski Library
Username is sjprep and Password is sjprep
ABC-CLIO is an award-winning publisher of reference, contemporary thought, and professional development content, created to help students, educators, librarians, and general readers of all ages wrestle with complex challenges. Throughout our history, we have invested resources in the development of new content genres, giving our diverse customer and reader communities the opportunity to explore deep factual treatments of the topics that matter, and delivering the most current scholarship and perspectives on those topics.

Our editorial staff compiles some of the reference content on our databases, while other reference material is gathered from recognized scholars and writers in various fields. Objectivity and balance are always of the utmost importance to our staff, both in writing pieces and editing work submitted by contributors. We are guided by our editorial boards and advisers, as well as our own editorial policies and fact-checking procedures.

Use your BPL ecard.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.

The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, presents the basic realities about the world in which we live. We share these facts with the people of all nations in the belief that knowledge of the truth underpins the functioning of free societies.
Who uses The World Factbook?
A wide variety of folks including US Government officials, researchers, news organizations, corporations, geographers, teachers, professors, librarians, and students. In short, anyone looking for an expansive body of international data on a recently updated Web site.
Although many of the facts presented in The Factbook may be found in various other publications, they are conveniently gathered together in one place only at The World Factbook Web site.
The World Factbook is a unique reference in that it is updated continuously - on average, every week.
Information in The Factbook is collected from - and coordinated with - a wide variety of US Government agencies, as well as from hundreds of published sources.

Use your BPL ecard.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.

Use your BPL ecard
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. We build platforms and instructional materials that enable the flexible configuration of content, technology and services for the purpose of connecting learners, faculty and teachers, librarians and publishers. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.

Studzinski Library
If you are prompted for login credentials, both the username and password are sjprep.

You may also use your BPL ecard to access JSTOR.
JSTOR is an archive of peer-reviewed scholarly journals. JSTOR requires that you reset your personal account each school year. If you have already setup your personalized account for the 2017-2018 school year, click here. Otherwise, if this is the first time you are accessing JSTOR for the 2017-2018 school year, click here.

JSTOR allows for off-campus access to their database by configuring a personal account. When you click the second link above you will be directed to the Login/Register for MyJSTOR page. Click on the "Register" link to go to the MyJSTOR Registration page.
Complete the required fields to register a unique username and password. A unique email address is required, but the email address may be of any type (Gmail, Hotmail, a school-issued account, etc.)
Click "Submit" to register your account. You will be redirected to the new JSTOR main page, where you may use JSTOR as usual.

Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region. The series includes several books on countries that no longer exist in their original configuration—such as Czechoslovakia, East Germany, the Soviet Union, Sudan, and Yugoslavia. These books remain in the series because they continue to offer valuable historical information and perspective. In some cases, studies on successor states are also part of the series.

Each book was written by a multidisciplinary team of social scientists, who sought to adhere to accepted standards of scholarly objectivity. The books represent the analysis of the authors and should not be construed as an expression of an official U.S. government position, policy, or decision.

Four databases: The Boston Globe [1980-current],
Coronavirus Research Database, Publicly Available Database, Science Database

Studzinski Library
Literature and Social Studies

Use your BPL ecard.
The Smithsonian, America’s foremost research and education institution, has partnered with Gale to launch a series of collections from Smithsonian’s vast archives. This partnership has yielded collections covering American history, culture and innovation.

Research resources on African countries

Research Orientation for Global Studies: how to find an article

Freedom of religion and case studies

Resources for a global studies research paper focused on Africa.

This follow up session for the history research paper introduced additional databases.

Research resources from Studzinski Library and the Boston Public Library

Biography research for World History research paper at Studzinski Library and Boston Public Library

Research in databases from the Studzinski Library and the Boston Public Library

Research orientation focusing on the Gale PowerSearch and Gale in Context World History for Modern World History.

Research orientation for biography research at the Studzinski Library and the Boston Public Library

Research for World History in the databases at the Studzinski Library and at the Boston Public Library

ABC-CLIO resources and activities on the Reformation

Recommended resources for research on robber barons and captains of industry

Research for U.S. History research paper

Research resources in databases from the Studzinski Library and the Boston Public Library

Research recommendations for U.S. History topics

Research orientation with databases for U.S. History research topics.

Resources for U.S. History research paper

Gale in Context research folders on race and gender U.S. systems and institutions

Curated resources on Japan, China, Taiwan, and the United States of America.

This research orientation assists students with answering the questions from Caroline Alexander's The War That Killed Achilles.

Curated resources for specific innovations and technology during World War I

The Academic Phrasebank is a general resource for academic writers. It aims to provide you with examples of some of the phraseological ‘nuts and bolts’ of writing organised according to the main sections of a research paper or dissertation (see the top menu ). Other phrases are listed under the more general communicative functions of academic writing (see the menu on the left). The resource should be particularly useful for writers who need to report their research work.The phrases, and the headings under which they are listed, can be used simply to assist you in thinking about the content and organisation of your own writing, or the phrases can be incorporated into your writing where this is appropriate. In most cases, a certain amount of creativity and adaptation will be necessary when a phrase is used.The items in the Academic Phrasebank are mostly content neutral and generic in nature; in using them, therefore, you are not stealing other people’s ideas and this does not constitute plagiarism. For some of the entries, specific content words have been included for illustrative purposes, and these should be substituted when the phrases are used.The resource was designed primarily for academic and scientific writers who are non-native speakers of English. However, native speaker writers may still find much of the material helpful. In fact, recent data suggest that the majority of users are native speakers of English. More about Academic Phrasebank.