The A.E. Studzinski Library: A to Z Databases

World History: The Modern Era chronicles influential world events and developments since the 16th century to support research and analysis of global trends, causal relationships, and current conflicts.

Connect learners to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. Gale's premier resources, Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources--including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

Gale Academic OneFile Select covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences.

This database is a great starting point to look for scholarly journal articles on a wide range of topics.

With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of a growing body of knowledge. Researchers will have access to current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. With strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields. In addition, more than 30 Delmar titles provide in-depth coverage on a variety of agriculture-related topics.

American History helps students build foundational subject knowledge of U.S. history from pre-contact to the present day. With over 20,000 primary and secondary sources presenting a full survey of America’s development, this library provides a rich collection of primary sources covering everything from early diaries, ship logs, and slave narratives all the way to FBI surveillance files, as well as thoughtful commentary and academic discussions on topics ranging from early colonial settlement and the witch scare in Massachusetts to the complexities of politics today.

Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, it merges Gale's authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Users can also search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text.

This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Coverage: 1980 - current

A multi-level, award-winning digital PreK-12 resource hub, Britannica School offers diverse, interactive content for students and educators.

Britannica Library Children is the perfect place to find unique and safe content that empowers younger users to ignite curiosity and discovery.

Britannica Library Reference Center allows users to easily conduct fact-checked research from continually updated encyclopedia articles.

All Britannica Library databases:

-Children
-Young Adults
-Reference Center

Britannica Library Young Adult encourages independent learning with access to multimedia content and the ability to toggle between reading levels.

With easy-to-read articles and age-appropriate reference and learning materials, the middle school level of Britannica Online School Edition is ideal for 6th-8th grade students.

Britannica Moderna is a comprehensive Spanish-language general encyclopedia, including the Merriam‑Webster's Spanish‑English Dictionary, an atlas, and timelines. You will find more than 47,000 articles, 8,000 images, maps, and audiovisual materials.

All of the Britannica School Databases.

-Elementary
-Middle
-High

Offers resources in Spanish ideal for elementary school students.

Offers resources in Spanish for both elementary and middle school students.

Offers reference resources in Spanish ideal for middle school students.

Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily.

Century Past Free Online Library is an internet library. Our collections have links to many thousands of free online books, magazines, articles, maps, podcasts and images, organized so you can browse by topic.

Our online books are hosted by reputable websites such as the Internet Archive, HathiTrust and Google Books. Some of these books are in the public domain and you can download them.

Books not in the public domain can be borrowed from the Internet Archive, via this site.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. We do this by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible.

Access to full-text eBooks in the fields of education, psychology, biology & life sciences, business, economics & management and general social sciences.

The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment.

EPA works to ensure that:
-Americans have clean air, land and water;
-National efforts to reduce environmental risks are based on the best available scientific information;
-Federal laws protecting human health and the environment are administered and enforced fairly, effectively and as Congress intended;
-Environmental stewardship is integral to U.S. policies concerning natural resources, human health, economic growth, energy, transportation, agriculture, industry, and international trade, and these factors are similarly considered in establishing environmental policy;
-All parts of society--communities, individuals, businesses, and state, local and tribal governments--have access to accurate information sufficient to effectively participate in managing human health and environmental risks;
-Contaminated lands and toxic sites are cleaned up by potentially responsible parties and revitalized; and
-Chemicals in the marketplace are reviewed for safety.

Core database for the field of education, including early childhood education, K-12 education, higher education and adult education research.

This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

In 2010, the National Archives, through its National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), entered into a cooperative agreement with The University of Virginia Press to create this site and make freely available online the historical documents of the Founders of the United States of America.

Through this website, you can read and search through thousands of records from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison and see firsthand the growth of democracy and the birth of the Republic.

From the University of Chicago Press

This collection of thoughts, opinions, and arguments of the Founders is meant to be useful to different kinds of readers, and hence useful in a variety of ways. How one uses this book will depend on the energy, time, and needs of the particular individual. Those desiring a general view of the state of the question that ultimately took the form of a specific phrase or clause in the Constitution will find materials assembled under the article, section, and clause numbers of that provision. Readers wishing to pursue their inquiries further are directed--within and at the end of each unit or chapter--to the location of other primary materials that they might find germane. Some of those materials are reprinted here under the headings of thematic chapters in volume 1 or under other, closely related, constitutional clauses, and their location will be so indicated. Many other documents will be of a kind that we could not accommodate within the already stretched confines of this collection; references to their published locations are clearly noted.

Gale PowerSearch platform offers comprehensive access to authoritative reference, periodical and primary source information. Gale has incorporated enhancements, creating PowerSearch 2.0, a platform providing even greater ease -- "giving more power to the user."
PowerSearch 2.0 simplifies browsing through Gale's more than 20,000 publications, providing the ability to search across more than 150 million documents. The interface provides users a Web-like experience and includes added features that appeal to and empower library researchers.Key features provide more customization options for the user, allowing them to create their own custom profile. Users can modify the home page so that the topics and publications they are interested in are fed through RSS feeds right to the page at login. In addition, users have better navigation options such as the new Publication Browse with hover technology which allows users to see more publication details without clicking through.

Global Issues In Context supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search—Global Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues In Context, Global Issues Viewpoints contains more than 3,000 exclusive commentaries that provide background and guidance on significant topics.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.

Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Health Reference Center Academic is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics.

Health & Wellness Resource Center offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more.

InfoTrac Student Edition is designed for middle- and high-school students and provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.
InfoTrac’s solid content features include full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources; careful editorial curation; a low-to-no embargo rate; and detailed manual indexing.

Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources.

A Brief History of Korea; D-Day and the Liberation of France; The Algerian War;
The Battle of Britain; The Boer War; The Bolshevik Revolution; The British Industrial Revolution; The Chinese Cultural Revolution; The Collapse of the Soviet Union; The Cuban Revolution; The End of Apartheid in South Africa; The Establishment of the State of Israel; The French Revolution and the Rise of Napoleon; The Great Irish Famine; The Indian Independence Act of 1947; The Iranian Revolution; The Manhattan Project; The Marshall Plan; The Mexican Revolution; The Treaty of Nanking; The Treaty of Versailles; The Universal Declaration of Human Rights

The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.

Did you know you can now search for scholarly materials that are preserved in the Internet Archive? Introducing the Internet Archive Scholar, a search engine of 250 million research articles, from rare 18th-century field notes to conference presentations, or the latest preprint publication. Research shows that too often Open Access publishers just disappear, and with them go the links to troves of important scholarship. The Internet Archive Scholar seeks to preserve Open Access works and make it easier to discover them through full-text-search.

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region. The series includes several books on countries that no longer exist in their original configuration—such as Czechoslovakia, East Germany, the Soviet Union, Sudan, and Yugoslavia. These books remain in the series because they continue to offer valuable historical information and perspective. In some cases, studies on successor states are also part of the series.

Each book was written by a multidisciplinary team of social scientists, who sought to adhere to accepted standards of scholarly objectivity. The books represent the analysis of the authors and should not be construed as an expression of an official U.S. government position, policy, or decision.

An integrated research experience, Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.

This databases has two subcategories of databases: Contemporary Literary Criticism and Shakespearean Criticism. The Boston Public Library Online Resources has this database with ten subcategories of databases.

Literature Resource Center is Gale’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database offering the broadest and most representative range of authors and their works including a deep collection of full-text critical and literary analysis. The database provides researchers with unbounding evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented.
Integrated with the most-used collaboration tools in the classroom, students and patrons continue to rely on this go-to resource whenever and wherever they do research.
Researchers are able to find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

MEDLINE contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world. The majority of journals selected for MEDLINE are based on the recommendation of the Literature Selection Technical Review Committee.

Created specifically for middle school students, Research In Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.
Research In Context provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science. Middle school students will benefit from an interface that delivers a combination of the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users as well as the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.

1985-Current

For NH access to the Gale databases that are limited to MA geolocation, use this link along with any of these passwords: stjohns, sjprep, patriot.

This database provides a large collection of resources covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Science In Context is an engaging online resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science In Context showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.
The collection includes millions of full-text articles that includes national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.

Arts and Literature; Biography; Business and Government; Current Issues; Geography; Health; History; Science and Math

U.S. History In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.

Available on campus

On campus access
Please ask the librarian for the login credentials that by contract cannot be posted to this libguide. You may not share the login credentials with users outside of SJP, or our contract with the Dow Jones will be voided.

Understanding Conflict and Society is an essential source for research and scholarship on the military conflicts that have defined world history from antiquity to today, offering over 22,000 primary sources and reference entries spanning more than 50 wars.

World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students. Content is aligned with state and national curriculum standards and is cross searchable with U.S. History In Context.

World History: The Modern Era chronicles influential world events and developments since the 16th century to support research and analysis of global trends, causal relationships, and current conflicts.